top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekathlynandersen1

Time spent in Tumut and Tumbarumba

Updated: Aug 3, 2018

Name: George Mallat

University: UNDS

GP location: Tumut and Tumbarumba

GP clinic: Roth’s Corner Medical Centre and Tumut Family Medical Centre


What did you do on your rural GP placement?

In Tumbarumba, I observed GP consultations and assisted with wound care. In Tumut, I was first with a GP obstetrician. I observed antenatal examinations and was guided in the use of ultrasound. I also saw a live birth and the midwives spent time with me afterwards explaining their role and the examination of the uterus after birth. Later in the week I spent time with another GP who gave me the opportunity to perform histories and examinations on the patients. I also assisted with several basic procedures. I performed a ring block, anaesthetised and punch biopsied skin lesions and sutured them (under guidance). I also spent time with the nurses, learning about their role in the GP setting. They taught me many skills, including vaccinations and surgical assisting.

Outside the clinic I participated in many activities. I stayed in a farm stay just outside of Tumut with a local dentist. She had a beautiful property with chickens, a vegetable garden and a lamb. She put me in contact with the local mountain biking group and I went riding with them on local mountain tracks. She also took me road biking and four-wheel driving. I met the local policeman in Batlow and he took me out hiking and hunting. A nurse from Roth’s Corner medical centre showed me around her property and I had dinner with her family. I also went hunting to the highest point in Tumbarumba with the ‘Tumbarumba to Kokoda’ group who take groups of local high school students to the complete the Kokoda trail. On the weekends, I explored the surrounding areas of the Snowy Mountains. I visited the Yarangobilly caves, Courabyra winery, the Blowering dam, Jounama creek and went fly fishing on the Tumut River.


Tell us about your mentors and the clinic environment…

The nurses and doctors in the clinics were so supportive. They engaged me in their work and took every opportunity to teach me. I was able to get so much practical experience, from taking histories to tying sutures. They were very friendly and helped me to get in touch with people in the community and to participate in various community activities.


What did you find most rewarding about your rural rotation/placement?

I learned about the range of skills required of rural doctors. The GPs also worked in the hospital when they were not in the clinic and so had to be comfortable with emergency management. I was given the opportunity to have a practical role in patient care, which was very rewarding. Even though it was my first time doing this, the doctors and nurses gave me so much confidence and spent a lot of time giving me technical assistance. It was also rewarding to get involved in the community. Everyone I met was friendly and welcomed me to join in a range of activities.


How do you believe you’ve impacted the community?

I did not limit myself to the clinic during my placement. Each afternoon and on the weekends, I tried to organise an activity with various members of the local community. Through this, I learned a lot about life in the country and got to see some beautiful parts of the Snowy Mountains. I have stayed in touch with members of the community, including the leader of the Tumbarumba to Kokoda group (I am hoping to do the trail with him when he next goes in 2020) and a doctor from the Tumut Family Medical centre (who has offered me to do further work with him in Gundegai). I am looking forward to returning to the area over the summer and it is somewhere I am considering working in the long term.


Why would you encourage others to complete a rural rotation/placement?

If you are unsure of whether you want to work in a rural setting, as I was, these placements give you an opportunity to experience rural health and life. I felt welcome in the community and in the clinics. I loved my time with the doctors and there was so much to do in my spare time. It was a very different lifestyle and one I thoroughly enjoyed. The experience has given me confidence that rural medicine is what I want to do in the future. It was also an invaluable learning experience for me.


Top 3 things to do/see/ eat in town

1. Yarangobilly Caves

2. Mountain Biking Tumut trails

3. Swimming in the Blowering Dam


Gallery


Tumut (map)


Tumbarumba (map)


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page